Where I stand – an introduction

Over the past few years I’ve attempted to start a variety of different football-related blogs – tactics, Premier League, World Cup – and failed to maintain them, mainly due to a lack of time. This time however, I’ve decided to approach things slightly differently, by focusing on a single subject that I can guarantee fairly frequent contributions about: Aston Villa Football Club.

It would be unhealthy to count the amount of hours I spend thinking, talking about and watching the Villa, as my employers would feel short changed. So I have decided to channel these thoughts and observations into a blog, primarily as a means of venting my (frequent) dissatisfactions with my beloved Villans.

The purpose of this post is, firstly, to introduce the concept of the blog, but also to offer an insight into myself so that you know where I stand. I’m 27 years old and am a lifelong Villa fan. I regularly attended Villa Park in my younger years from the age of five, and was lucky enough to be at the Old Wembley in 1994 for our 3-1 win over Man Utd. As time passed, I became less interested in football the more I realised teenagers who play football tend to be dicks.

By the mid-2000s, my love for Villa had resurfaced and some of my good friends and I made our way back to games during Martin O’Neill’s first season (the end of Deadly Doug’s reign had done little to enthuse the majority of us). Since 2007, I have had a season ticket in the Lower Holte, and despite now living in London I make nearly every home game (weeknights excluding) and a handful of away matches too – Stoke, Chelsea and Everton already this season. I’m not a Paul Lambert fan: I was already calling for his head in October 2012 and my view hasn’t changed. I’m desperately looking forward to the day Randy sells up and we get a new manager: we’ve had some good times under Lerner but too many bad ones recently for him to continue growing our great club

Football is my one great passion. I like to believe I have a great knowledge of the beautiful game, probably more than I actually do however. I spend my games half-cheering-on-the-boys, half-analysing-the-match-as-it-plays-out. I’ve passed my Level 1 FA Coaching badge and am looking onto Level 2. Ultimately, I live and breathe football. So hopefully this may provide some insight but mainly this is for me.

This is where I stand.

Leave a comment